Mark Santana LRE Award


Mark Santana

Law Related Education Attorney Award

The Mark Santana Law-Related Education Award recognizes exceptional contributions of Arizona attorneys or law firms in furthering education and understanding of the role of the law in our democratic society. This award focuses on public awareness on the contributions that attorneys provide to the community.

Nominations are due March 1st and are to include the individual's name; firm if applicable; address & other contact information; the award for which they are being nominated and contact information of the nominators; a summary of their characteristics, experiences, and service that qualifies them for the award; and support letters from others may be included. The nomination packets should be sent to The Arizona Foundation for Legal Services & Education, ATTN: Kevin S. Ruegg, 4201 N. 24th Street, Suite 210, Phoenix, AZ 85016 or email to [email protected]

2020 Awardee


Lois Eisenstein

Lois has been very active in the We the People program as both a judge and in volunteering to help with the Southern Arizona Regional Competition.   She has donated countless hours in assisting the students and working towards providing them a place to demonstrate their knowledge. 

In addition to her work with We the People program, she has assisted with Kids Voting and the Court of Appeals Oral Argument.  With Kids Voting she supported the Foundation’s efforts to share law-related curriculum about voting, and the actual voting process, to various schools over the years.   Ms. Eisenstein donated her time with the Foundation’s partnership with the Court of Appeals Connecting with Community project by helping the students understand the workings of the various courts, along with highlighting what the students would see when they were part of the Court of Appeals actual cases presented at their schools.  She also helped with reviewing the case and making sure the students were knowledgeable about both sides and the law or the court decision that was being presented.    

Lois Eisenstein continually makes herself available to the Foundation, educators and the community to bring law related education to Southern Arizona.

2019 Awardees


Chief Justice W. Scott Bales & Hon. Murray Snow

For over 15 years, the Foundation has hosted the We the People Summer Institute.  The week long program brings together 15 educators from around the state teaching them about how to implement the We the People program in their classrooms.  As a culminating activity, teachers participate in a simulated congressional hearing just like their students would do. 

The teachers get to work with constitutional scholars from a variety of disciplines.  Two of those scholars, Chief Justice Scott Bales and U.S. District Judge Murray Snow, are often the highlight for many of the teachers participating.  Both have volunteered with the Institute for over 10 years.

Both have also volunteered in the We the People regional and state competitions/showcases in various ways, including key note speaker and competition judge.

Their yearly participation has brought the program and institute to a higher level, as they are considered not only prominent individuals in the legal world, but are known nationally for their work. 

2018 Awardee


Hon. Dennis Lusk

Judge Lusk served his country in Vietnam prior to pursuing the field of law. He has tried hundreds of jury trials, often being drug/alcohol cases. He handled the seminal Horizontal Gaze Nystagmus (HGN) case, for which the results had a positive impact for DUI prosecutions. He was even awarded “Prosecutor of the Year” by the Arizona Narcotics Officers Association. Through the years, he has served many positions, including the elected Greenlee County Attorney, Board Member of the Arizona Prosecuting Attorneys’ Association, the elected Justice of the Peace for District 7. As a teaching mentor for the Lower Court Division of the Arizona Office of Courts New Judge Orientation, he has trained both prosecutors and judges on many topics, from proving prior convictions to trial techniques.

He has been volunteering with We the People and Mock Trial for over 13 years. He also actively attempts to recruit other enthusiastic attorneys and judges to participate in the program as well. He has also donated his time and expertise to the Lost Dutchman Marathon, which raises money to fund efforts/programs in the Apache Junction area, including Girl Scouts, R.O.T.C., and college scholarships. Judge Lusk’s generous and hard-working nature is evident in his years of service

Bruce Chalk

Hon. Stephen McNamee

Professor Charles Calleros 


Heather Wellborn


Chief Justice Rebecca White Berch


Hon. Mary Murguia


Hon. Daniel Barker


Hon. Susan Shetter and Janice Wezelman


Judge Barbara Rodriguez Mundell


Pam and Bill Gates


Pinal County Judge William O'Neil


Danielle JanitchOsborn Maledon,

Denise QuinterriState Bar of Arizona

Roni Tropper, Community Legal Services

Dewain Fox, Fennemore Craig 
Danelle Liwski, Pima County Juvenile Court

Honorable Nicole Laurin, Gilbert Municipal Court
Honorable Peter Swann, Maricopa County Superior Court

Honorable Charles W. Gurtler, Jr., Mohave County Superior Court

Lynda Shely (Director of Lawyer Ethics, State Bar of Arizona)

Hon. Robert M. Brutinel (Presiding Judge, Yavapai County's juvenile court)

Lisa Coulter (Snell & Wilmer, Phoenix)

Honorable Roxanne Song Ong (Phoenix Municipal Court, Phoenix)

James Conlogue (Hitchcock, Hicks & Conlogue, Bisbee)
Timothy R. Hyland (Bess & Dysart, Phoenix)

Wendy S. Morton (Maricopa County Attorney, Phoenix)

Michelle T. Lopez (Kimble, Gothreau & Nelson, Tucson)

Keith Bevan (Teilborg, Sanders & Parks, Phoenix)
Adrianne Kalyna (U.S. Trustee, Phoenix)
Jim Lee (State Bar of Arizona, Phoenix)
Candyce Pardee (Gila County Attorney, Globe)

Jim Blake (Maricopa County Attorney, Phoenix)
Mike Goimarac (Apache County Attorney)
Heidi McNeil (Snell & Wilmer, Phoenix)
Janis Ann Sterling (Sole Practitioner, Prescott)

Jay M. Abbey (Retired Judge, Navajo County)
Thompson, DeRose, Montgomery, Cahill (Globe & Lakeside)
Charles Irwin (Elledge & Irwin, P.C., Sierra Vista)
Jay Zweig (Gallagher & Kennedy, Phoenix)

Carey Hyatt (Arizona Court of Appeals, Phoenix)
William T. Kiger (Sole Practitioner, Prescott)
Barbara E. LaWall (Deputy County Attorney, Pima County, Tucson)
Brian Weinberger (Kalish, Forrester and Torres, P.C., Phoenix)

Paul Blunt (Sole Practitioner, Phoenix)
Paul D. Julien (Sole Practitioner, Tucson)
Maricopa County Attorney's Office, Phoenix
Candyce Pardee (Gila County Attorney)

Karen Adam, Judge (Pima County Superior Court, Tucson)
David Gaona (DeConcini, McDonald, Brammer, Yetwin & Lacy, Phoenix)
H. Jeffrey Coker, Judge (Coconino County Superior Court, Flagstaff)
Snell & Wilmer Law Firm, Phoenix

Paul Brinkmann (Mangum, Wall, Stoops & Warden, Flagstaff)
Michael J. Donovan (Suciu, Donovan & Schmitt, Yuma)

Pima County Attorney's Office, Juvenile Unit - Tucson


4201 N 24 STREET
STE. 210

Follow Us

Copyright © Arizona Bar Foundation 2021. All Rights Reserved.